Tags

, , , , , ,

So after the beginning of a rough week at work, I was even more so motivated to get these personal projects initiated.

Here is the site that I came across and felt that I could improve upon it: El Matador Restaurant

After looking the website over, I went about removing things that were unnecessary or finding a way to group them. The original site has 6 tabs. I plan to bring it down to 4: Menu, Our Specialty, About Our Restaurant, and Location/Contact. Not sure all of these will stay. I’m thinking of shrinking the logo down and having it in the center of the navigation. Above the navigation, at the very top will be the location and phone number. I’m trying to figure out if that will be fixed or figure out to do that scroll down/hide navigation, scroll up/display navigation effect. If I can figure out how to make that hamburger menu in mobile and have it work, then that is what I will have for the smaller devices.

Wire frame

A quick wire frame sketch

For the color scheme, instead of the very bright red I want use the darker more maroon-red and maybe pale yellow font. Haven’t thought of the font type yet. Maybe I’ll look into some Google Fonts. I’ll make the logo a transparent image and scale it down in the code.

Not sure if you can tell by the sketch, I want it to be a single scroll with the parallax effect implemented. I learned my lesson last time with my personal site and parallax: work on mastering the parallax first and then throw in my mark up. Plus I think the single scroll will be perfect for multiple devices. The first top section, I may make a jQuery carousel, if I can get it to work on mobile devices also. Very ambitious.

Well that’s mostly everything I’ve been thinking about regarding the site and have put down on paper. I may sketch some more or just attempt making a cleaned up version of the wire frame in Photoshop. Then I can decide between using Foundation or the simpler 960 design. Kind of leaning towards Foundation, but we’ll see.

And I still have to figure out how to transfer my site to WordPress. I think it’s possible, since my site is not hosted with the company I purchased the domain from, and there is an icon of WordPress on the cPanel of the hosting site. I need to look into it more.

Thanks for reading!

