Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been away so long, but I’ve been hard at work. I’m still working on my website. I have a temporary single landing page up now, that looks just like the top card of LinkedIn: Nicole Phillips. I’m very proud of it, since I created it just by looking at LinkedIn’s page. I figured out the drop shadow they used. I guessed they used a gradient with a stop or two, for that bottom section, that you click to show other info. Oh and when you click it, it does drop down. Thank you jQuery and slideToggle(). *claps enthusiastically* I was very proud that not only was I able to implement that small amount of jQuery, but I understood how it worked.

If you hover over the three links in the navigation, you will see the see a nice fade in. That was done with the use of CSS3. The new stuff that was added, like transition, makes life so much easier. I remember when that was done using JavaScript, back when I was in college. Just a quick note, the links won’t work when you click on them. They will when I finish the site. I’ve already finished coding the “Resume” section. Next up is a blurb about myself for the “About” section. When the site is complete. The portfolio will be done using shadowbox. Once all this is done, my site will be complete. If I manage to achieve the parallax effect that I was considering on tacking on, that’s just icing on the cake.

In addition to working on my site, I’ve been doing some reading about web development. Here’s a list of books I consumed last year and this year, about the subject:

  1. CSS3 For Web Designers by Dan Cederholm
  2. HTML5 For Web Designers Jeremy Keith
  3. Responsive Web Design by Ethan Marcotte
  4. What is HTML 5? by Brett McLaughlin
  5. JavaScript and HTML5 Now by Kyle Simpson
  6. JavaScript: The Definitive Guide by David Flanagan – still reading
  7. JavaScript: The Good Parts by Douglas Crockford – still reading

So much information. At times I felt like my brain was going to explode from all of the information but I enjoyed learning all the things I’ve missed out on, since I am currently working in email production.

I’m also studying/learning via online sites such as codecademy & codewars. On top of that, a coworker in another department recommended a site that was offering a free 6-8 week course on JavaScript, How to Learn JavaScript Properly. I’m also doing that. Learning as much as I can and as quick as I can, in hopes of catching up with some of my peers who have had the luxury of working in web development for 1-2 years. I’m going to take a pointer from this article I read on LinkedIn recently, How to Get Better At Anything:

I realized that if I don’t have time, I have to make the time. In the morning. At night. Between work with clients. On the weekends.

I’m going to make time every day for web development. I read about it every day on my train commute to and from work. Now I’m going to make time, to actively work/code, everyday.

I’m going to be a front end web developer.

