Tags

, , , ,

I’m big on fitness and working out. While in college, I did gain the “freshmen 15”, but once I saw this, I hauled myself off to the gym and changed my eating habits. A year ago, I was able to partake in kickboxing, a few TRX band classes, and some CrossFit sessions. Experiencing all those different activities, opened me up to the many ways I can get out and be active. I especially loved the CrossFit class. I got my first experience with weightlifting and enjoyed it. However the cost long-term, was out of my budget. So as I sit here this Saturday afternoon, while deep conditioning my hair, I decided now was a good time to create a weekly routine down in print. That way, when I’m at the gym, I don’t have to stop and think about what I have to do next.

I previously, sometime last year, attempted to create a routine. Here is the routine:

Monday – Cardio – Running/Elliptical
Tuesday – Push –
One of these exercises:

  • Bench press [see also Push Up as substitute]
  • Squat (exercise)
  • Leg press [at home, use resistance band and do the same motion you would on the machine]
  • Shoulder press [at home or gym, dumbbell shoulder press]
  • Dips (exercise) [at home, chair dip]
  • Calf raise

Wednesday – Cardio – Running/Elliptical
Thursday – Pull –
One of these exercises:

  • Deadlift
  • Bent-over row
  • Upright row
  • Shoulder shrug [at home or gym dumbbell shrug]
  • Pull-ups[Assisted pull ups or negative pull ups, since i can’t do even one pull up]
  • Biceps Curl

Friday – Cardio – Running/Elliptical
Saturday – Glutes and Core:

Glutes:

  • Squats
  • Lunges
  • Side Lunges
  • Rear Leg Raises
  • Hip raises

Abs:

  • Sit ups
  • Crunches
  • Bicycle crunches
  • Plank
  • Side bends

Sunday – Rest Day

Potential schedule. I will do my best to follow this. Not everything maybe done in the scheduled day, but I will do my best to the majority of it, in 1.5 hour gym session. Here is the routine:

Monday – Cardio – Running: 30-35 minutes + Elliptical: 30-35 minutes
Tuesday – Biceps, Abs/Obliques, & Chest:

Biceps:

  • Barbell Curls – 3×10
  • Dumbbell Curls – 3×10
  • Hammer Curls – 3×10
  • Seated Dumbbell Curls – 3×10

Abs/Obliques:

  • Sit ups – 3×15
  • Decline Sit ups – 3×15
  • Crunches – 3×15
  • Bicycle crunches – 3×15
  • Plank – 3×1 minute
  • Side planks – 3 x 30 seconds
  • Side bends – 3×10
  • Straight Leg raises – 3×10

Chest:

  • Dumbbell bench press – 3×10
  • Dumbbell flys – 3×10
  • Pec Fly machine – 3×10
  • Machine chest press – 3×10

+ 10 – 15 minutes of cardio at the end
Wednesday – Cardio – Running: 30-35 minutes + Bike: 30-35 minutes
Thursday – Triceps, Back, & Shoulders:

Triceps:

  • Triceps pushdown – 3×10
  • Dumbbell kickback – 3×10
  • Dumbbell 2-hand overhead decline – 3×10
  • Dumbbell 1-hand overhead decline – 3×10
  • Bench dips – 3×15
  • Assisted dip machine – 3×10

Back:

  • Bent over barbell row – 3×10
  • Diverged seated row machine – 3×10
  • Lat pull down – 3×10
  • Close-grip front lat pull down – 3×10
  • Wide-grip lat pull down – 3×10

Shoulders:

  • Upright barbell row – 3×10
  • Dumbbell row – 3×10
  • Front dumbbell raise – 3×10
  • Side dumbbell raises – 3×10
  • Dumbbell shoulder shrug – 3×10
  • Dumbbell shoulder press – 3×10

+ 10 – 15 minutes of cardio at the end
Friday – Legs/Glutes:

Legs/Glutes:

  • Squats/weighted squats – 5×10
  • Lunges – 5×10
  • Side Lunges – 5×10
  • Rear Leg Raises – 5×10
  • hip raises – 5×10
  • Leg press machine – 5×10
  • Calf raise – 5×15
  • Stair machine [I’ve never tried this machine, but I want to give it a go soon.]
  • Deadlifts

+ 10 – 15 minutes of cardio at the end
Saturday – Rest Day
Sunday – CrossFit-style/Interval Training OR another Rest Day

CrossFit-style – Routine repeated 3-4 times

  • Sledgehammer to tire
  • Jerks
  • Jump box
  • Burpees
  • Sprint/run a short distance

Interval training – Routine repeated 3-4 times

  • Ladder drills – 4-5 types done, each type done 6x
  • Sprinting: Short, medium, long distance and then in reverse: long, medium, short

OR Rest Day #2

With a more solid schedule laid out, hopefully I’ll be able to attain my fitness goals better. Those goals are: 30 minute 5K, 50 push ups without stopping, and 1 pull up. Just 1 pull up, please! My aesthetic goals are to reduce that stupid layer fat on my stomach, that makes it hard for me to see my four pack. I want to see my abs, not just when I wake up in the morning. My second aesthetic goal, is that fat on my triceps. It’s steadily decreasing. I now see my triceps faintly, when I flex them or when I’m using the cable machine to do triceps push downs. I know if I keep up with the gym schedule and eating clean 90-95% of the time, I’ll reach these goals. Maybe this new schedule will help me level up quite a bit in the coming months, on Fitocracy. If you’re on there, by all means, follow me: https://www.fitocracy.com/profile/spialelo/.

