Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night, I hit the gym pretty hard. I did the interval setting on the treadmill varying between 3.5 and 5.1 speed setting. My shirt and head were quite sweaty. Since it was late, I waited until this morning to wash my hair. Hopefully what I write below, will become my mid-week wash regimen.

Shampoo 1. Shea Moisture Moisturizing Shampoo.
*I rinsed my hair first with warm water, in hopes of lifting my hair cuticle. Lathered/Rinsed twice. I’m almost done with this shampoo. I would definitely re-buy it. I’ll wait on a sale though since I’ve seen the price increase this year. My next shampoos to try are the As I Am Cleansing Pudding and Shikai Moisturizing Shampoo. I have the Curls Creamy Cleanser, but just like the conditioner, my scalp doesn’t approve. Using it to shave my legs, so it doesn’t go to waste.

Conditioner
2. Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner
*Left on my hair for as long as it took me to shower and wash my face. Probably 5-7 minutes.

Leave-In
1. Giovanni Direct Leave-In Weightless Moisture – A small amount, less than a quarter size, diluted with water, rubbed into my hair. A few good passes back and forth, then got dressed to let it air dry some. That was less than 10 minutes.
2. Next, I applied Mega Care: Grape Seed Oil. Ingredients(in order): grape seed oil, sweet almond oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, castor oil, wheat germ oil, tocopherol(Vitamin E), fragrance. I applied two light coats. I waited a bit befoe moving to the next step.
***Everything went great up until this point. There was residue beading up from mixing the conditioner and oil, at all. I think these are steps, I need to do perfect every time.

3. Applied a bit of Curls Goddess Curls to the front, as a test. Good thing I did the test step. It didn’t mix well and it formed the white residue beads. I didnt proceed any further.

I did not proceed any further with the gel. As fate would have it, a friend from college, sent me a YouTube video of a young lady with short hair, showing her gel application process. She did leave-in and then gel. I was thinking that might be the solution. However, I like my friend’s process more: Leave-in, Oil, and Cream (LOC method) AND then gel. Maybe I needed my Taliah Waajid Curly Cream or the other cream, underneath first. Wait for the cream to absorb a little and then apply gel. I wonder if I should spritz my hair with water, and then apply the gel, or go straight to the gel.
So my next trials with the wash and go are as follow:
1. Leave-In, Gel, and oil(to give it a little shine at the end)
2. Leave-In, oil, cream, and then gel.
3. Leave-In, oil, cream, spritz water, and then gel.
*Will be attempted with the Curl Goddess Curls gel and Eco Styler Olive Oil gel. The Curls one, I won’t be re-buying anyway, due to price of such little quantity. Next gel to try will be the As I Am Curling Jelly.

Hair results: Hair didn’t feel rough dry, with the exception of the front, where I applied the gel. Something tells me the full LOC method + gel, maybe the right order for my hair. We’ll find out when I begin the trial.

Tomorrow I’ll attempt the #2 method: Leave-In, oil, cream(Taliah Waajid Curly Curl Cream), and then gel. I’ll wait a bit, 5-10 minutes, before applying the gel. Since I already have leave-in my hair and have no plans to wash my hair so quickly again, I’ll spritz my hair with water, then apply oil, cream, & finally gel. I really hope this works. My only semi-successful wash and go, wash when I drenched my hair with water and applied the gel in the shower. I don’t want to do that. One of these orders better work.

